The disaster at Askja

• Þ G

Hello Gemeente.

A one kilometer wide landslide fell from the mountainsite

down into Askja lake around midnight 21. July

causing up to 50 meters high floodwaves on the lake.

The quantity of material in the landslide is estimated to be

50 – 60,000,000 M3. It was a luck that this took place at

the time of the day when there was no people on the area.

All traffic further than to Víti crator is now forbidden.

http://www.ruv.is/frett/svona-litur-askja-ut-i-dag-myndband

Askja was created after a gigantic volcanic eruption in 1875.

More news:

http://www.ruv.is/frett/mikid-rof-i-jardlogum-vid-oskju

http://www.vedur.is/um-vi/frettir/nr/2918

http://almannavarnir.is/displayer.asp?cat_id=8&module_id=220&element_id=3144

Regards

Þ G

- - - - -

www.hvitatravel.is/borgarnes-today

• Puffino

Exciting, I have been following it closely (from here, that is ;-) Since I am a geologist it is quite interesting to me.)

It is a great slide, quite large, really. Funny is that I have been on top of the summit that only just survived this landslide. Haha, I already wondered why it did not collapse. Now it did ;-)

Traffic is open, I do not have any info on whether it is allowed to go into Viti at the moment. Do yo have any info on that, Tolli? Do you know more about the waterlevel in Viti at the moment? I can imagine a bit of a waterrise there, since the wave indoubtly splashed into Viti as well?

• Þ G

Hello Sander.

It is still not allowed to walk further than to Víti they say.

In one of the first news I saw about this, they said that the surface

of the lake had risen two meters after the landslide.

And some of the flood waves splashed all the way in to Víti.

This area was created only 139 years ago, so it´s still under construction.

Maby it was a landslide like that which killed Walter von Knebel and the painter Max Rudloff in 1907

they were never found again ?

Below is some visdom from the Vatnajökulsþjóðgarður park.

Regards

Þ G.